Skip navigation

Here is the situation. I moved all the way across the country from Georgia to Arizona so I could be more than just a partial piece of my son’s life. I spent almost 2 thousand dollars just moving me and all my crap the 2 thousand miles across the country. Now I had cashed in my old 401k plan in order to do this after I was laid off of my job back in Georgia. So I get to Az and am able to stay with a friend of mine for about a week while I searched for apartments that I thought my ex-wife would find suitable to let me keep my son overnight(not that i’m a bad father or anything of the sort, my military career and my job following the military kept me out of his life for most of it). So I find a place, but unfortunately i had to make a deal. Because I was unemployed when applying for the apartment(I was also job hunting as well) I had to pay 6 months rent in advance. A little over 5 grand. Now I am almost broke. So as I am trying to find myself a job, that months child support check suffered. Unfortunate circumstances. So my ex-wife decides to say ‘you cant see or talk to your son until you pay me my money’. What a bitch right? She knows the whole situation and the reason for the cross country move. But just like a woman, she wont listen to reason. Job hunt continues. An old friend of mine(female) and I had been talking on occasion and she would come over and we would talk and watch TV and yada yada yada. You see where this is going. So she and I start dating. Not in the traditional sense, you see, we made way with what we had. Her being unemployed as well we made due with what we could. We become closer as the days go by. She knows of the situation with me and my ex-wife over my son. Time goes by and she and her daughter all but move into the apartment with me. I fell in love with them both. More than I ever thought I could. My girlfriend and I attended a career fair in town and before the day is out she had a job, and I did not. Now here is some back ground on me, graduated at 16, joined the ARMY at 17, deployed 3 times while in the ARMY totalling 33 months in Iraq. After military service I became a Government Defense contractor, worked a year stateside, then almost 2 years in Afghanistan. So almost 10 years of Military Intelligence Electronic Systems in my background and my resume, no jobs to be had stateside for someone with my work experience and no college whatsoever. So here I sat in my apartment with this little 4 year old girl that I absolutely adored while her mother, my girlfriend, worked. Never in my life have I ever asked anyone for anything, nor depended on anyone for anything. So being supported by another individual was a bit of a culture shock to me, and I fell into a bit of a depression slump for a week or two. I just didn’t know how to handle the situation. Now let me back track just a little bit. I do have a bit of a drinking problem. And on 2, and only 2 occasions that her and I were out I made an ass of myself and embarassed her in front of her friends. Not directly, but just from sheer association. I am only getting into this part so as not to make myself out to be a saint. Add on top of that the fact that her parents, for some reason that I still do not know to this day, just did not like me. I wish for the life of me I knew. Don’t know if it would have made any difference now. I usually keep alot of things bottled up inside of me. One day during my little depression, she got me to tell her how I had been feeling. I don’t know where the conversation went south but she told me “2 weeks to get a job or i’m gone”. I had been trying, on top of that I had just started school as well, using my GI Bill from the military, if for nothing else then some additional income into the household. It was that day that she packed up everything of hers and her daughters and moved out. I knew from the fact that she cleared out every iota of proof that her and her daughter had even existed from this apartment that she didn’t plan on coming back. But I still held onto hope for us. I worked on my anger issues, I worked on my drinking problem, I searched for jobs, I did my school work. This whole time trying to talk to her on the phone, but she always ignored the calls and just texted. I should have picked up on the signs. So she tells me that she ‘has plans’ one certain night. Few hours later I text her asking what she is doing, no response. Next day I ask her about why she ignored me. ‘Because I don’t want you ruining my night’. So apparently I am ruining her night just by wanting to talk to my ‘girlfriend’. Few more days go by. I had been asking to see her for days. If for nothing else then just to see some glimmer of hope for ‘us’. She brushes my requests off every time. So friday she sends me a text during the day saying that we need to talk. That she was going to come by and talk. I asked for what. ‘What do you think?’ was the response. So through a series of texts she breaks up with me and never comes over like she said she was going to. Because we are on each others lists on Facebook I get updates everytime she is tagged/mentioned in a post of someone else. The facebook post read “5 1/2 hours till I get off work and am cuddling with my baby [girlfriend’s name]”. Less than 12 hours after she broke up with me. This whole time she had been saying she loved me, and hadn’t left me for someone else, that she just wanted some ‘space’. FBGM!!!!!

 

One Comment

  1. And I have to add to this that literally the entire time this all went on, I had a testing date for Customs and Border Protection, so the job thing, ya.


Got something to say? Say it already!

